Originally a Universalist Church built on the waterfront, Salem has grown and changed around this historic building. Now repurposed as a space for the arts, The Bridge at 211 continues to serve the Salem community.
Part of Salem's History
The original church building was constructed in 1808 with Rev. Hosea Ballou, a founder of the Universalist Church, laying the cornerstone of the Federal style building. At that time, the harbor came right up to the edge of the property, so the cornerstone had to be laid at low tide.
The building was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1983.
In 2016, the First Universalist Church of Salem merged with First Parish Church in Beverly, MA. Since then, a non-profit The Bridge at 211, has transformed the building into a hub for artistic, cultural, and social events.
A Door to the Future
Currently, The Bridge at 211 serves as a hub for artistic, cultural, and social events.
We are here to engage, enrich, and support our community as a meeting place, a home to arts and service organizations, and a partner to other groups.
The Bridge at 211 is part of Salem's rich heritage and an active participant in its future as the place to connect, celebrate, and learn.
Board of Directors
Our Board of Directors is invested in and actively involved in the success of The Bridge at 211.
Mark Stevens, President, Board Co-Chair
Dale E. Yale, Secretary, Board Co-Chair
Stephen Benevento, Treasurer
Joselyn Yrata-Mart, Board Fellow
Pictured: Front L to R Christine Weis (former member), Dale E. Yale, & Agnes Buchanan Back L to R Stephen Benevento,Brenda Briana , & Mark Stevens